2020. August 4., Tuesday

Academic Calendar

SZTE Academic Calendar for Academic Year 2019/2020


1st Semester


Registration Period: 26th August 2019 (Monday) – 31st August 2019 (Saturday)

Study Period: 2nd September 2019 (Monday) – 7th December 2019 (Saturday)

Autumn Break: 30th October 2019 (Wednesday) – 1st November 2019 (Friday)

Exam Period: 9th December 2019 (Monday) – 20th December 2019 (Friday)

2nd January 2020 (Thursday) – 25th January 2020 (Saturday)

Supplementary Exam Period: 27th January 2020 (Monday) – 1st February 2020 (Saturday)

Winter Break: 23th December 2019 (Monday) – 1st January 2020 (Wednesday)


2nd Semester


Study Period: 3rd February 2020 (Monday) – 16th May 2020 (Saturday)

Spring Break: 10th April 2020 (Friday) – 17th April 2020 (Friday)

Exam Period: 18th May 2020 (Monday) – 27th June 2020 (Saturday)

Supplementary Exam Period: 29th June 2020 (Monday) – 4th July 2020 (Saturday)

SZTE Academic Calendar for Academic Year 2018/2019


1st Semester


Study Period: 3rd September – 8th December, 2018 (14 weeks)

Autumn Break: 22nd October - 24th October, 2018 (3 days)

Exam Period: 10th – 21st December, 2018 (2 weeks) and 02nd – 26th January, 2019 (4 weeks)

Supplementary Exam Period: 28th January – 2nd February, 2019 (1 week)

Winter Break: 24th December, 2018 – 1st January, 2019 (1 week)


2nd Semester


Study Period: 4th February – 18th May, 2019 (14 weeks)
Spring Break: 25th – 29th March, 2019 (1 week)

Exam Period: 20th May – 29th June, 2019 (6 weeks)

Supplementary Exam Period: 1st - 6th July, 2019 (1 week)

SZTE Experience


simsonSimson Ndadaleka Shaakumeni - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences - PhD Studies

I heard about Stipendium Hungaricum from a fellow countryman. I would love to teach at a university one day, but a Doctorate degree is often required in order to do so. That is why I came to Szeged, where I am currently working on my doctoral thesis in educational science – my special field of interest is scientific literacy of students. Life is completely different in Namibia; it is mostly a rural country and agriculture is still hardly mechanised and many homesteads in villages in the countryside are built of wood. The weather is totally different from the one in Szeged, the cold and icy weather caught me by surprise after returning from Christmas holiday, I didn’t have proper shoes so my feet were constantly freezing.


Imane_CherbiImane Cherbi - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

My name is Cherbi Imane and I am 23 years old from Algeria. I am spending my last semester at the University of Szeged Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. Being an MA student of Applied Linguistics, University of Szeged offered me a chance to gain sufficient knowledge about my field of study. I choose the University of Szeged simply because it is a highly ranked academic institution both nationally and internationally; also because of the variety of programs that they have for international students.

I love everything in Szeged: every corner of every street, I will always keep them in my heart. I take photos of the city when walking around and I am planning to launch a blog to promote this beautiful corner of Hungary among international students. People of Szeged are caring, always smiling and we are living peacefully together. I have never felt isolated or neglected. As a coffee lover, i always enjoy having my favorite type of coffee in different coffees in Szeged. Lookin for calmness and nature vibes, I would certainly walk by the Tisza river whenever I want.

More...