

THE JOHN SCOTT AWARD

అత్తు

The Board of Directors of City Trusts
cordially invites you to join them in honoring
the 2020 recipients
Jean Bennett
William DeGrado
Michael Klein
and
the 2021 recipients
Katalin Kariko
Drew Weissman

Thursday, November 18, 2021 5:30 P.M.

American Philosophical Society
Benjamin Franklin Hall
427 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reception immediately following award ceremony
This in-person event requires proof of vaccination
(photo of vaccination card at RSVP)
Please wear a mask during the ceremony
RSVP via e-mail reply to
JohnScott@CityTrusts.com

2020 JOHN SCOTT AWARD RECIPIENTS

JEAN BENNETT

The John Scott Award is presented to Jean Bennett for developing gene therapies for curing retinal degeneration and ocular diseases.

WILLIAM DeGRADO

The John Scott Award is presented to William DeGrado for synthesis of novel peptides and proteins and the development of antimicrobial peptides.

MICHAEL KLEIN

The John Scott Award is presented to Michael Klein for developing algorithms for computational simulation of biological systems and the development of antimicrobial peptides.

2021 JOHN SCOTT AWARD RECIPIENTS

KATALIN KARIKO

The John Scott Award is presented to Katalin Kariko for her role in establishing the platform for constructing stable and safe mRNA to enable gene-induced immune response within the human body.

DREW WEISSMAN

The John Scott Award is presented to Drew Weismann for his instrumental contributions to the development of the mRNA approach to enable gene-induced immune response within the human body.

THE JOHN SCOTT AWARD

The John Scott Award is given to "the most deserving" men and women whose inventions have contributed in some outstanding way to the "comfort, welfare and happiness" of mankind.

The donor, John Scott, was an Edinburgh chemist who in the early 1800's set up a fund calling upon the "Corporation of Philadelphia entrusted with the management of Dr. Franklin's legacy" to bestow upon "ingenious men or women who make useful inventions" a premium not to exceed twenty dollars and a suitably inscribed copper medal.

Why Scott chose an American city to administer his bequest is not known, although it is believed he had a longstanding interest in America and an appreciation for the achievements of Benjamin Franklin.

The first awards were made in 1822 for a front door lock, a vertical printing press, a razor strop, and several other useful inventions. Through the years, awards have been made internationally for inventions in industry, agriculture, manufacturing, science and medicine.

Since 1920, most of the awards have gone to contributors in science and medicine. Awards have recognized significant contributions in prevention of yellow fever and malaria, and in the development of penicillin and streptomycin. Among past recipients are Baruch S. Blumberg, Mario Capecchi, Marie Curie, Thomas Edison, R. Buckminster Fuller, Alan J. Heeger, Edwin Land, Irving Langmuir, Alan G. MacDiarmid, Guglielmo Marconi, Barry J. Marshall, John C. Mather, Kary B. Mullis, Saul Perlmutter, Jonas Salk, Glenn Seaborg, Nikola Tesla, Sir Joseph J. Thomson and K. Barry Sharpless, many of whom also won the Nobel Prize.

Nominations of individuals for the award are made by a committee of Philadelphians to the Board of Directors of City Trusts of the City of Philadelphia. Reflecting the increased value of the John Scott Trust account, the award includes a substantial cash payment, in addition to the copper medal and a certificate.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF CITY TRUSTS

PRESIDENT

Bernard W. Smalley, Esq.

VICE PRESIDENT

Michael P. Meehan, Esq. Hon. Michael A. Nutter

DIRECTORS

Lynette M. Brown-Sow Albert S. Dandridge III, Esq. Charles M. Gibbs, Esq. Hon. Derek S. Green Hon. Paul P. Panepinto Dominic A. Sabatini Hon. Mark F. Squilla Hon. Michael J. Stack

EX OFFICIO

Gregory S. Rost for the Mayor of Philadelphia Donna Bullock, Esq. for the President of City Council of Philadelphia

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Joseph P. Bilson

JOHN SCOTT AWARD ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Bernard W. Smalley, Esq., Chairman Professor Hai-Lung Dai, Secretary

Professor Magid Abu-Gharbia

Professor Clyde F. Barker

Professor John M. Daly

Professor Eduardo Glandt

Professor Virginia Man-Yee Lee

Professor Marsha Lester

Professor George Pappas

Professor Amos B. Smith III